The Indie Author Project increases prize for BCALA Self-Publishing eBook Awards to Promote Diverse Books in Libraries

The Black Caucus of the ALA (BCALA) and BiblioLabs are thrilled to announce increased financial support to $5,000 for the annual Self-Publishing eBook Awards. These awards honor the best self-published eBooks in fiction and poetry by an African American author in the United States. BiblioLabs and BCALA have had a partnership for the past six years that has continued to highlight and support diverse voices in digital content as well as recognize self-published work.  

Authors who enter the contest will also have the opportunity to opt into the Indie Author Project program, providing them with a unique resource for the promotion and exposure of their work in public libraries. “I have seen first-hand the benefits of this level of support for the indie authors” says Tiffany Duck, the Chair of the eBook Award Committee. “Some have gained a lot of exposure through the curated [IAP] collections from BiblioLabs.”

Submissions to this year’s BCALA Self-Publishing eBook Awards will be accepted through February 28th. Interested authors can submit their work here

Winning authors will each receive:

  • $2,500 cash prize 
  • Formal recognition at the Black Caucus of the ALA Literary Awards
    • Travel stipend to attend the award ceremony 
  • BCALA Literary Award Digital Seal to use in marketing 

To be eligible, submissions must be:

  • A work of fiction or poetry
  • In the English language
  • An original work that the author owns the rights to
  • Written by an African American author born in the U.S.

About the Black Caucus of the ALA (BCALA)

Established in 1970, the Black Caucus of the American Library Association serves as an advocate for the development, promotion, and improvement of library services and resources to the nation’s African American community and communities of color; and provides leadership for the recruitment and professional development of African American librarians. In addition, BCALA has sponsored literary awards for African American authors since 1994 and also hosts events with the prestigious Coretta Scott King Book Award.